Hints and tips to pass the Examinations

When taking the Exam, take time to read the question properly, sometimes a call is appropriate where no foul has occurred.  You may be asked "What is the Call" in answer to a question where no foul has been made, frequently the candidate will answer "Nothing" or "No Foul", where the correct answer may be "Time out" or "Time running" or "Ball potted" (these examples are not all that may be appropriate).  The Question was NOT is it a foul?

Common mistakes.
Should the breaking player play with the Cue Ball on the baulk line, this would be called foul Two Visits.  It would not be a restart [unless other aspects of the shot would lead to a restart,(Foul Break, Potting 8 Ball)].

With the adoption of ‘World Rules’ the 60 second rule changes what happens when compared to what was commonly accepted with previous EPA rules.
Coaching in doubles games, once the ‘player on’ has touched the table traditionally no further discussion is allowed.  This does not apply to World Rules, simply because time is running, so if a player is down on a shot, the partner is allowed to make further comment, remember if this results in hesitation, the ‘player on’ may well incur a ‘Time Foul’.  It is likely that a significant part of the 60 seconds has already been used in conferring!

The removal of the Serious Foul [WEPF 2014], and the subsequent insertion of some of these into Loss of Frames. Careful study of Rule M Loss of frame and the guidance will be essential in the quest to become a qualified Referee.